Apple One Wants You to Pay More To Bundle Services You Don’t Want

How I pay less for exactly what I use

Megan Morrone
Debugger

--

Apple TV icon on a phone with a notification badge.
Photo: Jakub Porzycki/NurPhoto/Getty Images

Late last month, Apple launched its new subscription bundle, Apple One, which offers three tiers of bundled Apple services designed to save you money. They’re also designed to convince you to sign up for services that you don’t need, or want, in the first place.

I gave Apple One a look when the company first announced it on September 15, but instead of signing up, I decided to move more of my photos over to Google Photos in an effort to reduce the amount of iCloud storage my family pays for every month. Then last week, when Google announced that it will stop offering free photo storage, I decided to give Apple One another look.

Now my head hurts.

Here are the Apple One tiers, according to Apple:

Source: Apple.com

The first two tiers are basically the same and only differ by how many people you can share them with and how much iCloud storage Apple gives you. These two tiers are probably great if you or your family get your music and video games from Apple, you enjoy a few shows that stream exclusively on Apple TV+, and you…

--

--