I Have a BMI of 20.5, But Noom Thinks I Need to Lose Weight

This epidemic of pseudo-scientific weight loss apps is dangerous.

Zulie Rane
Debugger

--

tangerines and groundcherries scattered on white surface in daylight
Photo by Jill Burrow from Pexels

cw: discussed disordered eating, weight loss, and weight with numbers.

Let me start off with honest: I’ve struggled with disordered eating since I was about 13. I’ve monitored my caloric intake for so long that I can list the calorie count of nearly any food at a glance. I still get a weird sense of pride when I go to bed hungry.

As a result of my checkered history, I’m very susceptible to weight-loss ads. When one such ad from a company called Noom popped up on my Facebook feed, I couldn’t help but give a click to see what they were all about.

Reader, I know that’s messed up, and I’m getting better with the help and support of friends and family. I know that I don’t need to “lose ten pounds” to be happy. I’m learning that I deserve to be happy and confident no matter what weight or size I am.

But Noom disagrees.

screenshot of Noom’s weight loss plan for me. It shows how I can get to 125 lbs by October 19th.
Screenshot taken by author from the Noom website

Noom, for those of you lucky enough to not be blasted with its ads on Facebook, is a “mission-driven technology company dedicated to…

--

--

Zulie Rane
Debugger

Writer and cat mom. Opinions are my own. This is my just-for-fun profile! My official Medium profile is @Zulie_at_Medium.