I Just Found $1,013 in Bitcoin That I Didn’t Know I Had

My story highlights the challenges with storing and managing cryptocurrencies

Thomas Smith
Debugger

--

Image: Francesco Carta fotografo/Getty Images

I’ve been writing a lot about cryptocurrency mining recently. I’m not a professional miner — I’m a journalist and experimenter. But you don’t have to be a professional to make a little cryptocurrency. You can mine small amounts of Bitcoin on any PC, or even use the heat generated from a crypto mining rig to heat a chicken coop.

Some of these projects can turn out to be more profitable than even I had originally intended. While writing about how to build a cryptocurrency mining rig recently, I logged into an old Nicehash account to check some mining statistics. I got a big surprise when I found that the account contained $1,013.71 in Bitcoin that I didn’t know I had.

Images courtesy the author

After some sleuthing, I found that the mystery Bitcoins were generated in an experiment I did in 2018 on heating my home with cryptocurrency mining.

--

--