The People Who Treat Their Roombas Like Family

‘Scoopy just kind of became like a very dumb third cat’

Angela Lashbrook
Debugger

--

Illustration: Nata Metlukh

When you have a Roomba, you’re never really alone.

At least, that’s what I’ve heard. I don’t have a Roomba myself, which might seem surprising given my general enthusiasm for vacuums, but maybe that’s because I already have a pet: my dog, Gordo. He provides me with a similar level of emotional support as a Roomba would, although he doesn’t offer the same level of productive support; Gordo doesn’t do much besides lie around, eat, sniff his butt, and drink water so fast he barfs.

A Roomba may not be cuddly, but many owners say they regard the device as a pet or, at the very least, a semi-sentient being that resides in their home.

“I think it started as a joke, and then eventually our minds started associating sentience with the vac, I guess because it moves around on its own and performs a function,” says Jess, a Roomba owner and Twitch streamer in Toronto who asked not to use her last name to keep her streaming separate from her professional life. “If the two cats are our sweet little fur babies, then Scoopy just kind of became like a very dumb third cat.”

--

--

Angela Lashbrook
Debugger

I’m a columnist for OneZero, where I write about the intersection of health & tech. Also seen at Elemental, The Atlantic, VICE, and Vox. Brooklyn, NY.