This Giant E-Ink Tablet Is a Dream Device for Reading and Taking Notes

With no apps and no notifications, the reMarkable 2 helps me focus

Owen Williams
Debugger

--

Photos courtesy of the author

I’ve been obsessed with e-ink since buying my first Kindle, but the technology has largely been relegated to reading books, despite its potential for so much more. The 10.3-inch reMarkable 2 ($399) takes e-ink and shows off its capabilities beyond e-books, as if someone finally took the shackles off.

The reMarkable e-ink tablet has no apps, no notifications, and few features, outside of trying to do one thing well: writing with a pen, as if it were on actual paper — no additional distractions. It’s the antithesis of every gadget on the market today, which are jam-packed with as many features as possible, and it’s a breath of fresh air.

I wanted to try the reMarkable 2 because I’ve found writing things down by hand helps me remember them, and it improves my focus. While paper has worked well enough for this throughout its long history, I often forget my notebook or don’t have it close when I need it.

--

--

Owen Williams
Debugger

Fascinated by how code and design is shaping the world. I write about the why behind tech news. Design Manager in Tech. https://twitter.com/ow